To Leave the Humans

Monday 27 July 2009

by: mishi

Posted on: 07-27-2009 @ 01:36 pm

 

 

I watched a video Saturday night called “Instinct” with Anthony Hopkins. Maybe you know this movie, but I’d never heard of it before. It’s about a primate scientist who eventually abandons the human world entirely to live with the gorilla clan that has accepted him. It’s fiction, but nonetheless it’s a pretty intelligent, interesting story.

It gave me longings, but it’s not the first time I’ve had these. I had them many times when I was still with my animals. Longings to live on a big piece of land in a house, with lots of gardening and music and art and the animals. Longings to stop talking to humans, except perhaps a certain special one or two. Longings to keep my contact with the human world, the neurotypical town squares and chatter, to an absolute minimum. I couldn’t get that private space when I still had the ones I love, and I can’t get it now.

                                   ~~~~~~~~website~~~~~~~~

 

 

Leave a Reply

